Lockdown 2021: Which states have imposed complete lockdown, curfews and restrictions? Details here

At least 10 states and UTs in the country -- Haryana, Odisha, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, Rajasthan, Bihar, Mizoram and Delhi -- are under a complete COVID19 lockdown whereas Punjab and West Bengal are observing partial lockdown/curfews.

Shivani Gupta
| Updated: May 11th, 2021

As the coronavirus cases continue to be above 300,000 new cases every day with nearly 4,000 daily deaths due to the virus, several states and union territories have announced complete lockdowns to control the spread of the virus. Unlike the last year, when the central government announced a nationwide lockdown in March, this year the decision to impose a lockdown has been left with the states.

At present, even though there is no nationwide lockdown, almost all the states and UTs in the country are either under a complete lockdown or observing COVID-19 restrictions such as weekend lockdown, partial lockdown and night curfews.

At least 10 states and UTs — Haryana, Odisha, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, Rajasthan, Bihar, Mizoram and Delhi — are under a complete lockdown (see graphic: COVID19 Lockdown 2021). Meanwhile, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal are observing a partial lockdown or some kind of COVID restrictions.

Based on various media reports, here are the details of complete or partial lockdown/curfews in various states. 


Telangana has announced a 10-day lockdown that comes into effect from tomorrow, May 12. All activities will be allowed between 6 am to 10 am. Yesterday, Telangana registered 4,826 new COVID19 cases and 32 deaths due to the virus.


A complete lockdown has been imposed for two weeks in the state starting from 6 am on May 10 to 6 am on May 24. There will be a window of four hours between 6 am and 10 am for people to buy essential items.

All public transport services, educational institutions, restaurants, hotels, theaters, malls, public gatherings, religious places, bars and clubs will be closed. Hospitals, nursing homes, clinics, labs, dispensaries, pharmacies, chemists, Jan Aushadhi Kendras and blood banks will be open.

Almost all the states and UTs in the country are either under a complete lockdown or observing COVID-19 restrictions. Photo: Abhishek Verma/Gaon Connection

Kerala and Tamil Nadu

A nine day lockdown has been imposed in Kerala, in effect from May 8 to 16. In neighbouring Tamil Nadu, a complete lockdown has been announced from May 10 to May 24.

Private and public bus transport, taxis, cabs, autos will not be allowed to operate. Hotels and restaurants can function from 6 am to 10 am, 12 pm to 3 pm and 6 pm to 9 pm for takeaways only. Food delivery aggregators like Swiggy and Zomato will be allowed to operate in the same duration.


Since April 19, Delhi has been under the lockdown, which has now been extended till May 17. During this period, Metro services will remain suspended. Earlier, the lockdown was due to end on May 10.

Uttar Pradesh and Bihar 

On May 9, the Uttar Pradesh government extended the partial lockdown in the state till 7 am on May 17. A weekend curfew was under implementation since April 20.

The Bihar government on May 4 announced a lockdown from May 5 till May 15.


The state government has imposed a stricter curfew from May 11 to 18. People will be allowed to buy essential items, such as milk, vegetables, fruits and meat from 7 to 10 in the morning. Grocery shops will be allowed to open on May 13 only.

Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh

On April 5, Maharashtra had imposed lockdown-like restrictions. The curbs have been extended till May 15. Local lockdowns in Latur and Solapur districts have been imposed. Districts like Amravati, Akola, Yavatmal will observe curbs. Shops selling groceries, vegetables, fruit, dairies, bakeries, and other types of food shops (including chicken, mutton, fish and eggs) are allowed to open only between 7 till 11 in the morning.

Whereas, Madhya Pradesh has imposed a ‘Janata curfew’ till May 15 with only essential services allowed.

Rajasthan and Gujarat

A complete lockdown has been announced in Rajasthan, in effect from May 10 to May 24. During this period, wedding, religious places, work under Mahatma Gandhi Employment Guarantee Scheme will also remain suspended during this period.

Meanwhile, Gujarat has imposed a night curfew from 8 in the evening to 6 in the morning. Restrictions to be observed in 36 major cities till May 12.

Odisha, Puducherry, Chhattisgarh, and Haryana

Amid rising cases, a 14-day lockdown has been imposed across Odisha from May 5 till May 19.

The Haryana government has announced a seven-day long lockdown from May 3 till May 17.

Chhattisgarh has announced a weekend lockdown till May 15. Earlier, the state allowed district magistrates to extend local lockdown till May 15.

The union territory of Puducherry imposed a two-week lockdown starting from May 10 till May 24. Religious places, beaches, parks, gardens would remain closed.

Northeast India

Mizoram government has announced a seven-day complete lockdown from 4am of May 10 to 4am of May 17. The Manipur government has imposed curfew in seven districts from May 8 till May 17.

Arunachal Pradesh is observing a night curfew. Lockdown in Itanagar is till May 17. Manipur lockdown in seven districts till May 17.

Lockdown in one district of Meghalaya has been announced till May 17. However, the state is observing a weekend curfew.